The North Carolina General Assembly gave approval in August to a coastal recreational-fishing-license law that was passed in 2004 but had not yet been enforced. North Carolina was the last state on the southeastern coast to approve a salt water fishing license. The annual coastal license will cost $15 for residents and $5 for short-term permits. A unified permit is also available for $35 and allows the angler to fish in all of the state’s public waters. Revenue will be used for grants to improve marine resources. Requirements to purchase the licenses will begin in early 2007. For more information, visit www.ncfisheries.net.