Marine Protected Areas Advisory Nominees Named

September 21, 2007

The Secretary of Commerceinvited 26 nominees to serve on the Marine Protected Areas AdvisoryCommittee, pending successful completion of required clearancesand final review and acceptance by the Secretary. The 26 finalistsinclude representatives from different geographic regions, includingthe Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide varietyof different sectors, including resource management, science,policy and commercial and recreational fishing interests. Hereare the final nominees:

  • Tundi Agardy, Senior Director of Global Marine Program, Conservation International; District of Columbia
  • Brian Baird, Ocean Program Manager, California State Resources Agency; California
  • Daniel Bromley, Anderson Bascom Professor of Economics, University of Wisconsin; Wisconsin
  • Sarah Chasis, Senior Attorney & Director of Water & Coastal Programs, Natural Resources Defense Council; New York
  • Rod Fujita, Senior Scientist, Environmental Defense; California
  • Christine Gault, Manager, Waquoit Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve; Massachusetts
  • John Halsey, State Archaeologist, Michigan Historical Center; Michigan
  • Mark Hixon, Professor of Marine Ecology & Conservation, Oregon State University; Oregon
  • Tony Iarocci, Commercial Fisherman; Florida
  • George LaPointe, Commissioner, Maine Department of Marine Resources; Maine
  • Rick Lydecker, Associate Director for State Affairs, Boat Owners Association of the United States; District of Columbia
  • Livingston Marshall, Associate Professor, Biology Department, Morgan State University; Maryland
  • John Martin, Manager, Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge (Retired); Alaska
  • Bonnie McCay, Professor, Department of Human Ecology, Rutgers University; New Jersey
  • Mel Moon, Director, Quileute Tribe Natural Resources Department; Washington
  • Terry O’Halloran, Vice President, Atlantis Adventures; Hawaii
  • Lelei Peau, Deputy Director, American Samoa Department of Commerce; American Samoa
  • Jim Ray, Manager, Environmental Sciences, Westhollow Technology; Texas
  • Cheri Recchia, Director of Marine Protected Areas Program, Center for Marine Conservation; District of Columbia
  • Michelle Ridgeway, Oceanus Alaska, Marine Environmental Services; Alaska
  • Andrea Riniker, Executive Director, Port of Tacoma; Washington
  • Robert Shipp, Chair, Department of Marine Sciences, University of South Alabama; Alabama
  • Mike Sutton, Program Officer, Packard Foundation; California
  • Kristen Vallette, Director, Project Aware Foundation (affiliated with the Professional Association of Dive Instructors (PADI)); California
  • Sally Yozell, Vice President, Battelle Coastal Research & Ecosystem Management Laboratories; Massachusetts
  • Robert Zales, Charter Boat Operator & President, National Association of Charterboat Operators; Florida

More Uncategorized