Logging In
Invalid username or password.
Incorrect Login. Please try again.

not a member?

Signing up could earn you gear and it helps to keep offensive content off of our site.

November 03, 2008

Kay Rybovich inducted into the IGFA Hall of Fame

In 1994 Kay was inducted into the International Women's Hall of Fame

It was truly a proud time for the International Women's fishing association on October 25, 2008 when Kay Rybovich was inducted into the IGFA Hall of Fame

 53 years ago at a sailfish tournament in Palm Beach, some women were fishing on what was called "ladies Day". These women traveled with their husbands to many fishing tournaments around the country only to be able to fish on "Ladies Day" some wanted just a little more. Those women were, Ginny Sherwood and Denny Cowninshield and Kay Rybovich. They were the founders of the IWFA, breaking through, into what at that time was known as a "Mans Sport".  That was in March 1955. The women worked fast, and in two weeks, with sixteen members, the first meeting of the IWFA was held.  By June 1955 the IWFA had grown to 100 members.  Today we have members worldwide from South Africa, Bermuda, Costa Rica, Mexico and throughout the entire US.

Not only did they have a love for fishing they also realized the need for conservation and education in the Marine Sciences and started the IWFA Scholarship Trust in 1966. Since then, over 200 scholarships have been awarded. The IWFA is a proud recipient of both the IGFA and the Billfish Foundation's Conservation award.
In 1994 Kay was inducted into the International Women's Hall of Fame which is a means of honoring our members for their individual contribution to the success of the Association, conservation and sport fishing.

In 2004 the IWFA added the Kay Rybovich Trophy which is awarded to the member who weighs or releases the most variety of species.
On behalf of the members of the IWFA a plaque was presented to Kay from President Gwen Hahn for her induction to the IGFA Hall of Fame.