Close

Login

Logging In
Invalid username or password.
Incorrect Login. Please try again.

not a member?

Signing up could earn you gear and it helps to keep offensive content off of our site.

June 23, 2010

Florida saltwater fishing license changes

Until July 1 anglers can still buy all of these permits at the current prices...

Beginning July 1 shore and beach fishermen in Florida will no longer be charged a fee for their fishing license.  The legislature did, however, retain the required free license in order to preclude a more expensive Federal registration, which is required in states that do not have a saltwater fishing license.

Anglers who order the shoreline license or other licenses or permits over the phone or Internet will still have to pay a processing fee of $2.31 for Internet sales at www.fl.wildlifelicense.com  or $3.33 for phone sales at 888-FISH FLORIDA (888-347-4356).

Also on July 1 the price of two special saltwater fishing permits will increase. A snook permit will jump to $10, from $2 last year, and recreational lobster permits will increase from  $2 to $5.

Until July 1 anglers can still buy all of these permits at the current prices, and all permits are valid for one year from the purchase date.

All permits and related licenses are available for purchase online at www.fl.wildlifelicense.com, at county tax collectors' offices, many retail outlets that sell fishing and hunting supplies, or by calling toll-free 888-HUNT-FLORIDA (486-8356). There are some exemptions for license requirements. More information is available at www.MyFWC.com/license.