Logging In
Invalid username or password.
Incorrect Login. Please try again.

not a member?

Signing up could earn you gear and it helps to keep offensive content off of our site.

May 15, 2008

Action Alert: Help us help boating!

Action Alert: Help us help boating!

At 6:00 p.m. Wednesday we learned that there is an important hearing tomorrow morning for a federal House bill that could remove recreational boats from the impending EPA operational discharge permit requirements.  We need some help right now from you to support H.R. 5949. 


The Congressional House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee is having a markup on H.R. 5949 "The Clean Boating Act of 2008" today, May 15 at 11:00 am.  This bill, introduced May 1 by Representatives Steve LaTourette (R-OH) and Candice Miller (R-MI) is identical to S. 2766 "The Clean Boating Act of 2008", introduced March 13 by Senators Barbara Boxer (D-CA) and Bill Nelson (D-FL).  It provides a permanent exemption for recreational boats from the EPA operational discharge permit.  Because this new bill, H.R. 5949, is identical to the Senate bill that has 31 sponsors, it would be great to pass it out of Committee tomorrow and head to the House floor.

For more general background on this issue visit or

Action Needed:  Please pick up the phone and call your Representative right now and ask that they vote YES in support of this bill.  With only four months left before the EPA permit deadline, we need to move this bill through committee tomorrow and get to a full House vote as soon as possible. 

Please help us help boating:

Call your Representative as soon as possible, but before 11:00 a.m. on Thursday.

Ask to speak to the person handling H.R. 5949 "The Clean Boating Act".

Tell them how important this bill is, and that without it every single recreational boat in the country will need a new permit to legally operate after 9/30/08.

Ask them to vote YES for H.R. 5949 on Thursday and move the bill out of Committee.
The list below includes Democrats and Republicans on the Committee, listed in state order, and their Washington DC phone number.

Democrats on Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Phone Number

 Congressman Harry Mitchell (D-AZ-05)
 (202) 225-2190
Congresswoman Doris Matsui (D-CA-05)
 (202) 225-7163
Congresswoman Ellen Tauscher (D-CA-10)
 (202) 225-1880
Congressman Gerald McNerney (D-CA-11)
 (202) 225-1947
Congresswoman Laura Richardson (D-CA-37)
 (202) 225-7924
 Congresswoman Grace Napolitano (D-CA-38)
 (202) 225-5256
Congressman Bob Filner (D-CA-51)
 (202) 225-8045
Congressman John Salazar (D-CO-03)
 (202) 225-4761
Congresswoman Eleanor Norton (D-DC-DL)
 (202) 225-8050
Congresswoman Corrine Brown (D-FL-03)
 (202) 225-0123
Congresswoman Mazie Hirono (D-HI-02)
 (202) 225-4906
Congressman Bruce Braley (D-IA-01)
 (202) 225-2911
Congressman Leonard Boswell (D-IA-03)
 (202) 225-3806
Congressman Daniel Lipinski (D-IL-03)
 (202) 225-5701
Congressman Jerry Costello (D-IL-12)
 (202) 225-5661
Congressman Michael Capuano (D-MA-08)
 (202) 225-5111
Congressman Elijah Cummings (D-MD-07)
 (202) 225-4741
Congressman Michael Michaud (D-ME-02)
 (202) 225-6306
Congressman Tim Walz (D-MN-01)
 (202) 225-2472
Congressman James Oberstar (D-MN-08)
 (202) 225-6211
Congressman Russ Carnahan (D-MO-03)
 (202) 225-2671
Congressman Gene Taylor (D-MS-04)
 (202) 225-5772
Congressman Heath Shuler
 (202) 225-6401
Congressman Timothy Bishop (D-NY-01)
 (202) 225-3826
Congressman Jerrold Nadler (D-NY-08)
 (202) 225-5635
Congressman John Hall (D-NY-19)
 (202) 225-5441
Congressman Michael Arcuri (D-NY-24)
 (202) 225-3665
Congressman Brian Higgins (D-NY-27)
 (202) 225-3306
Congressman Zachary Space (D-OH-18)
 (202) 225-6265
Congressman Peter DeFazio (D-OR-04)
 (202) 225-6416
Congressman Jason Altmire (D-PA-04)
 (202) 225-2565
Congressman Chris Carney (D-PA-10)
 (202) 225-3731
Congressman Tim Holden (D-PA-17)
 (202) 225-5546
Congressman Stephen Cohen (D-TN-09)
 (202) 225-3265
Congressman Nick Lampson (D-TX-22)
 (202) 225-5951
Congresswoman Eddie Johnson (D-TX-30)
 (202) 225-8885
Congressman Rick Larsen (D-WA-02)
 (202) 225-2605
Congressman Brian Baird (D-WA-03)
 (202) 225-3536
Congressman Steve Kagen (D-WI-08)
 (202) 225-5665
Congressman Nick Rahall (D-WV-03)
 (202) 225-3452
Republicans on Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
 Phone Number
Congressman Donald Young (R-AK-AL)
 (202) 225-5765
Congressman John Boozman (R-AR-03)
 (202) 225-4301
Congressman Gary Miller (R-CA-42)
 (202) 225-3201
Congressman John Mica (R-FL-07)
 (202) 225-4035
 Ranking Member
Congressman Vern Buchanan (R-FL-13)
 (202) 225-5015
Congressman Connie Mack (R-FL-14)
 (202) 225-2536
Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL-25)
 (202) 225-2778
Congressman Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA-03)
 (202) 225-5901
Congressman Timothy Johnson (R-IL-15)
 (202) 225-2371
Congressman Jerry Moran (R-KS-01)
 (202) 225-2715
Congressman Charles Boustany (R-LA-07)
 (202) 225-2031
Congressman Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD-01)
 (202) 225-5311
Congressman Vernon Ehlers (R-MI-03)
 (202) 225-3831
Congresswoman Candice Miller (R-MI-10)
 (202) 225-2106
Congressman Samuel Graves (R-MO-06)
 (202) 225-7041
Congressman Howard Coble (R-NC-06)
 (202) 225-3065
Congressman Robin Hayes (R-NC-08)
 (202) 225-3715
Congressman Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ-02)
 (202) 225-6572
Congressman John Kuhl (R-NY-29)
 (202) 225-3161
Congresswoman Jean Schmidt (R-OH-02)
 (202) 225-3164
Congressman Steven LaTourette (R-OH-14)
 (202) 225-5731
Congresswoman Mary Fallin (R-OK-05)
 (202) 225-2132
Congressman James Gerlach (R-PA-06)
 (202) 225-4315
Congressman William Shuster (R-PA-09)
 (202) 225-2431
Congressman Charles Dent (R-PA-15)
 (202) 225-6411
Congressman Todd Platts (R-PA-19)
 (202) 225-5836
Congressman Henry Brown (R-SC-01)
 (202) 225-3176
Congressman John Duncan (R-TN-02)
 (202) 225-5435
Congressman Ted Poe (R-TX-02)
 (202) 225-6565
Congresswoman Thelma Drake (R-VA-02)
 (202) 225-4215
Congressman David Reichert (R-WA-08)
 (202) 225-7761
Congressman Thomas Petri (R-WI-06)
 (202) 225-2476
Congresswoman Shelley Capito (R-WV-02)
 (202) 225-2711